What Can The System Restore Feature In Windows Do To Help Me?

Everyone has had it happen to them.

They installed the wrong piece of software on their computer and all of the sudden it starts to go haywire on them.

Its happened to you, right?

Now you are panicking because you do not know what the problem is.

While sometimes, issues like these will need drastic action taken, most of the time there are simple ways to fix it.

Some pieces of malware will not harm your computer like others will.

system restore is there when all else fails

system restore is there when all else fails

System Restore Can Save The Day

With malware that is not extremely dangerous, but it still stops your computer from running an antivirus scan, you can use the system restore feature to fix it.

This is not the cure all that some people think it is, but in a lot of cases it can help you fix the problem.

Some people may not realize what the system restore feature does exactly.

Hopefully I can explain it well enough so that you can use it in case you need it.

When you use your computer, you might add or subtract certain things through the course of your session.

When you have system restore on, it tracks that state of your computer at a certain time and creates an identical image of it.

It will have all of your settings and the locations of your files already set up for when you need it.

This is why it can help just in case something goes wrong.

So if you download something that you were not supposed to and it is doing a number on your computer, or accidentally delete an important file, then you can set the system back to the last known good setting.

If you are not able to log into the computer, then you can use the “last known good settings” feature from the command line.

Either way, they will both set your computer back to a stage when it was working fine.

It will set your computer back before you even downloaded the infection that caused it to go haywire in the first place.

There are some drawbacks to using the system restore feature though.

Anything that you did on the computer, after you set the restore point that you reverted it to, will be erased (hence why you should make regular backups) so if you had any important documents that you were working on after that time, it will no longer be there.

Also, some people turn the system restore settings off so that they can save space on the hard drive.

If you do this, then you will not be able to use the system restore features.

Make sure that it is turned on so that your computer can always be backed up in case disaster happens.

About Lee Munson

Lee's non-technical background allows him to write about internet security in a clear way that is understandable to both IT professionals and people just like you who need simple answers to your security questions.

Trackbacks

  1. […] of filesOnly restore previous versions of filesTurn off system protectionIf you are looking to turn system protection on then choose one of the top 2 options. If you are looking to turn it off, pick the bottom option. […]

Speak Your Mind

*