The Sony Ericsson Free Laptop Hoax

by Lee on May 13, 2009

in Hoaxes And Conspiracies

Last year I wrote about an extremely well distributed email hoax that was supposedly offering forwarders of the message a free laptop from Ericsson.

Now, the email is back in an enhanced and graphical format -

sony-ericsson-laptop-hoax

Or, alternatively, you may receive the text based version which is much like previous renditions -

Dear All,

Ericsson are distributing free laptops for their brand promotion. They are hoping to increase their popularity and sales with this campaign.

All you need to do is send an email about this promotion to 8 people and you will receive an Ericsson T18 laptop.

However, if you send an email to 20 people or more you will receive an Ericsson R320 laptop.

Kindly ensure that you cc to Anna at Ericsson so that she will know you have sent the email.

Make sure you copy Anna@Ericsson.co.uk to your emails.

There are several indications that both of these emails are just as much a hoax as the previous version.

Firstly, the email address hasn’t changed and still says it is from an Anna Swelung who, last time I checked, does not even work for Ericsson.

Secondly, if you search for the T18 or R320 you will find that they are not so much laptops as cell phones!

Lastly, the fact that the message asks you to forward it onto your friends like a chain letter should be a red flag as this is a very common component of email hoaxes.

Update : A newer version of this hoax email now claims you can get a free Sony Vaio laptop by forwarding a similar message to 20 people.

Share this post: Tweet It | Facebook It | Stumble It | Digg It | Delicious It

Related Posts:

  • Free Ericsson Laptop?
  • Sony Ericsson Name Used In Fraudulent Emails
  • Life Is Beautiful, A Virus Hoax
  • 22 Missionaries – The Afghanistan SMS Text Message Hoax
  • The Merry Christmas Virus Hoax
  • Western Union Scam Explained
  • The Simon Ashton Email Hoax
  • The Wholesale List Scam
  • The Ashley Marc James Virus Hoax
  • It Takes Guts To Say ‘Yes’ To The Jesus Hoax
  • { 23 comments… read them below or add one }

    Peter Snyder October 23, 2009 at 11:27 pm

    We were just included in this email addr ess gathering scheme.
    Is the address- ericsson.com/ca/hoax.shtml – the proper place to report this fraud to Sony Ericsson?

    Reply

    PF October 16, 2009 at 6:24 am

    wtf. My friend just fell for this hoax. He CC’ed 20+ people including me to that spammer’s email address.

    Reply

    Lee October 17, 2009 at 12:46 am

    Ooops! Though we don’t know that this is being used to harvest email addresses – its possible but its just someone’s guess.

    Reply

    tariq akbar October 5, 2009 at 12:57 pm

    oh my God what a hoax but why these people spread these hoax news?

    Reply

    Lee October 5, 2009 at 12:58 pm

    I don’t know why specifically this one has been spread but hoaxes are distributed for a number of reasons -

    some people find them funny
    other just believe them
    spammers use them to collect email addresses.

    Reply

    Titanium May 27, 2009 at 9:40 am

    haha. look at those extremely old and ancient phones on my blog. no one wants them, even the third world countries wont want it.

    URL: http://yeoterence.com/2009/05/16/the-sony-ericsson-free-laptop-hoaxscam

    Reply

    Lee May 27, 2009 at 9:43 am

    Lol, thats true. I’ve never owned either of those models but they look similar to the sort of cell phone I had maybe 10 years ago!

    Reply

    Dani May 25, 2009 at 3:02 pm

    wow, how dumb did I got….
    I received this e-mail, and I’m felling like an idiot

    Reply

    Scam May 25, 2009 at 9:38 pm

    Why? Did you forward it on Dani?

    Reply

    Porkster May 23, 2009 at 4:58 am

    I thought this is one brilliant method of harvesting e-mail addresses. You send to 20 peoples email address and send a copy to anna.swelung@ericsson – they must have billions of confirmed e-mail addresses by now.
    And of course the original sender has proven they are suckers!

    Be prepared for a lot more spam messages people, your friends have dobbed you in…

    Get a free laptop my sending an e-mail – how dumb can you get!!!

    Reply

    Lee May 24, 2009 at 8:32 am

    Nice idea in theory but the Anna Swelung email address would lead back to Ericsson who are not a company that would be harvesting email addresses methinks!

    Reply

    Looking deeper May 22, 2009 at 7:19 am

    If sony ericsson has a strong domain name authentication and this email never comes back saying there is no such address. How is it still working because this a case of domain name fraud. Can someone tell me is it possible for this to happen again after repeated scams?

    Reply

    Lee May 22, 2009 at 2:15 pm

    I’m not quite sure of what you mean from the way you worded that?

    Reply

    Annabelle Lee May 20, 2009 at 4:49 pm

    does Ericsson make laptops??? never heard of it anyway… funny, naive people… :) )

    Reply

    Lee May 21, 2009 at 1:29 am

    I don’t think that they do Annabelle Lee and, yes, you’re right – people who believe these hoaxes are naive!

    Reply

    Amoene June 13, 2009 at 3:22 pm

    Don’t try to sound smart. People who are hoaxed do NOT “believe these HOAXES” – they believe the INFORMATION they receive.

    Reply

    Lee June 13, 2009 at 11:22 pm

    But surely if the information you receive sounds too good to be true you should check its validity before passing it on?

    Reply

    Concerned May 14, 2009 at 1:05 am

    Heres the official word from Ericsson : http://www.ericsson.com/ca/hoax.shtml

    Reply

    Lee May 14, 2009 at 1:28 am

    That pretty well sums things up!

    Reply

    uptech-it May 13, 2009 at 10:29 am

    scams/chain emails sucks! i hate receiving one of these. it also floods my inbox.

    Reply

    Lee May 13, 2009 at 10:32 am

    If you’re anything like me you probably receive dozens per day!

    Reply

    Zain May 13, 2009 at 10:02 am

    The T18 and R320 are not only cell phones they are also discontinued.

    Reply

    Lee May 13, 2009 at 10:17 am

    That they are. They’re quite old models I believe.

    Reply

    Leave a Comment

    { 3 trackbacks }

    Previous post:

    Next post: