Facebook Messages Appearing To Link To FBAction.Net – Possible Phishing Site

by Lee on April 30, 2009

in Social Network Security

One of my friends has just alerted me to the possibility of a new phishing attempt on Facebook that has surfaced in the last couple of hours.

facebook-phishing

He (Rick) said that he was receiving messages that linked to a website called FBAction.net that actually displays a fake Facebook login.

Strangely, however, doing a ‘whois’ lookup on that domain shows that it is, as yet, unregistered and available for sale.

Therefore, I would imagine that the domain name has actually been spoofed and leads elsewhere. (If anyone has a copy of the message can they mouse over the link to see what it says?)

In any event, it seems that entering your details on the fake Facebook login page will lead to the same spam message being sent to all your contacts.

Whilst there doesn’t appear to be any evidence of a worm, virus or other malware on the site that could change so be on your guard for this Facebook message.

If you get locked out of your account, or have any other concerns, then contact Facebook directly for assistance.

Share this post: Tweet It | Facebook It | Stumble It | Digg It | Delicious It

Related Posts:

  • Security Alert : Phishing Attempt On Twitter
  • Population Control, Facebook Style
  • Losing Yourself On Facebook
  • Phishing For Far Cry 2 On Steam
  • Beware Of The New Facebook Virus – Koobface
  • This Is What You Need To Know About Link Trade Scams
  • Is There A Link Between Spam And The Global Warming Hoax?
  • Paypal Phishing
  • Are Facebook And Microsoft Joining Forces To Tackle Koobface?
  • 5 Easy Ways To Spot A Phishing Email
  • { 8 comments… read them below or add one }

    Dave May 1, 2010 at 10:33 am

    I forgot to explain my previous comment so here it is.
    While in fB i posted a link to this post for others to read, seems one of my friends tried to share the link using the share button.
    When they did they got the warning message in my previous comment.
    I have no explanation for it but i sure would like one.

    Reply

    Lee May 1, 2010 at 11:58 am

    You mean the link to this post on my site was blocked?

    Reply

    Dave May 1, 2010 at 12:51 pm

    Lee not the whole link cause my friends were able to read it just couldnt share it, evidently some portion of it was blocked though since it couldnt be shared.
    I need to go in there an look thru their FAQs section an see if there are any ‘rules’ about this. There wasnt anything ‘abusive’ in the article an i myself havent got any notification from FB asking i remove the link an they havent removed it.
    It does have me confused.

    Reply

    Dave May 1, 2010 at 12:57 pm

    An yes it was just the link to this article.

    Reply

    Lee May 2, 2010 at 7:53 pm

    Puzzling indeed – perhaps it was just voted as a ‘bad link’ by other Facebook users??

    Dave April 30, 2010 at 10:03 pm

    from facebook thru a friend of mine

    Warning: This Message Contains Blocked Content
    Some content in this message has been reported as abusive by Facebook users.

    Reply

    Pete April 30, 2009 at 2:07 am

    Maybe whois just didn’t update quickly and the domain was bought today?

    Reply

    Lee April 30, 2009 at 2:24 am

    That’s a good point actually Pete, I’ll check it out a bit later..

    Reply

    Leave a Comment

    Previous post:

    Next post: